Advertisements – Advertising at The News And Times – | WE CONNECT!

Audio | Video | Top News | On Twitter | Security | FBI | Capitol Riot | JOSSICA | Trump | Russia | Putin | Russia – Ukraine War | Covid-19 | Brooklyn NY | Puerto Rico | World 

The Puerto Rico Times

October 4, 2022 6:28 pm

The News And Times | Featured Posts | All Articles | Current News | Selected Articles | Shared Links | Opinions | In My Opinion | Sites | Blogs | Links | Twitter | Facebook

Puerto Rico News

Cosponsors for HR 8393

Advertisements - Advertising at The News And Times - | WE CONNECT!
Spread the news

HR 8393, The Puerto Rico Status Act, is a bill currently being considered in Congress. It will allow voters in Puerto Rico to choose their political status from three well-established non-territorial options. As currently written, it would be the first binding vote on the subject.

Advertisements - Advertising at The News And Times - | WE CONNECT!


Members of Congress can add their names to a bill before it is voted upon, showing that they support the bill. As of this writing, HR 8393 has 34 cosponsors:

  • Rep. Nydia Velazquez (D-NY)
  • Resident Commissioner Jenniffer González-Colón (R-PR)
  • Rep. Darren Soto (D-FL)
  • Rep. Steny Hoyer (D-MD)
  • Del. Michael San Nicolas (D-GU)
  • Rep. Betty McCollum (D-MN)
  • Rep. Katie Porter (D-CA)
  • Rep. Ruben Gallego, (D-AZ)
  • Rep. Maria Elvira Salazar (R-FL)
  • Rep. Teresa Leger Fernandez (D-NM)
  • Rep. Lori Trahan (D-MA)
  • Del. Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan (D-MP)
  • Rep. Paul  Tonko (D-NY)
  • Rep. Fred Upton (R-MI)
  • Rep. John Katko (R-NY)
  • Rep. Don Bacon (R-NE)
  • Rep. Jared Huffman (D-CA)
  • Rep. Donald McEachin (D-VA)
  • Rep. Diana DeGette (D-CO)
  • Rep. Nikema  Williams (D-GA)
  • Rep. Julia Brownley (D-CA)
  • Rep. Ed Case (D-HI)
  • Rep. Melanie Ann Stansbury (D-NM)
  • Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA)
  • Rep. Kathy Castor (D-FL)
  • Del. Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC)
  • Rep. Bobby Rush (D-IL)
  • Rep. Richard Neal (D-MA)
  • Rep. Veronica Escobar (D-TX)
  • Rep. Anna Eshoo (D-CA)
  • Rep. Sylvia Garcia (D-TX)
  • Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-FL)
  • Rep. David Trone (D-MD)
  • Rep. John Larson (D-CT)

This list includes 28 Democrats and 6 Republicans representing 22 states and territories. California and Florida have 4 cosponsors each, while New York has three.

Progress on the bill

The bill was officially introduced in the House on July 15, 2022, and referred back to the House Natural Resources Committee on the same day. The committee held markup on the 20th of that month and sent the bill back to the House on that day as well.

The bill must be brought to the floor of the House for debate and voted on. Then the Senate would have to pass a version of the bill and the two bills would need to be harmonized before going to the President for his signature. Once President Biden signs the bill, Puerto Rico would gain a permanent non-territorial political status, after more than a century as a U.S. territory.


The post Cosponsors for HR 8393 appeared first on Puerto Rico Report.

Spread the news
Advertisements - Advertising at The News And Times - | WE CONNECT!
WP Radio
WP Radio